Your library subscribes to over 60 different electronic reference databases on a variety of subjects.  The databases organize information from well-known reference materials and enable you to search or browse for topics of interest that may otherwise be difficult to locate on the Internet.

Most of the reference databases you use at the library are now available to the Connetquot Library patrons from the convenience of your homes!  You will need your valid library card to gain access.  Follow these four steps to explore the database from home: 

  • Choose a Subject from the Database Menu on the left-hand side

    or

    Choose from the A-Z list of available products
  • Click on the name of the database you would like to search, then enter the barcode number on the  back of your library card when prompted.
  • Some databases are not available from home and are indicated as such with the words In Library Use Only

If you have any questions or problems using these databases, please call the library at 567-5079 and ask for the Reference Desk during normal library hours. A Reference Librarian will be glad to answer your questions.

 

 

Featured Database


Computer Skills Online

Computer Skills Online
Online lesson plans for MS Office 2003 or 2007, Vista, and other programs. Login with your library card and create your own password to start.

 

 

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online
Hundreds of full text critical essays covering American, British & world authors writing from 1800 to today. The Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism series, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism series, and Contemporary Literary Criticism series are also available in print.

 

 

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus
Find descriptions and reviews of fiction and nonfiction books by your favorite authors and find "readalikes"--books with themes similar to one of your favorites. Also includes discussion guides, series lists, and more.

 

 

p4A Antiques Reference

p4A Antiques Reference
Search for your works of fine art or collectibles in this antiques database. Entries show a full-color photograph of each object, give a description of the object and its condition, and list a selling price from an actual auction.

 

 

New Databases

Career Cruising Career Cruising
Find information on occupations and careers, do a skills assessment test to learn about other jobs that might suit you, or search for educational programs offered by technical schools and universities.

 

 

Consumer Health Complete Consumer Health Complete
Search this comprehensive resource for full text consumer-oriented information on diseases; medications; nutrition; and children, men's, women, and elder health.

 

 

Footnote Footnote
Genealogists and history buffs can view digitized images of hard-to-locate documents as well as census records, city directories, military records, and more. Users can register for free to add comments or corrections to all documents.

 

 

Points of View Points of View
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Includes information on timely social issues with full text opinions, articles, statistics & primary documents.

 

 

© Connetquot Public Library. All rights reserved.
URL:
http://www.connetquotlibrary.org