Connetquot Public Library

Everything


ABC-CLIO American Government
Access daily news stories, biographies, primary source documents, essays, and more to develop an understanding of the events and leaders in the American government.
ABC-CLIO American History
Covers the events and people integral to U.S. history from early Native American cultures to present via full text essays, biographies, primary sources, and timelines.
ABC-CLIO State Geography
Contains overviews on the 50 states including histories, maps, facts, statistics, and biographies of famous individuals.
ABC-CLIO World Geography
Research countries of the world through a wealth of data including maps, flags, histories, statistics, climate, economics, culture, and biographies of world leaders.
ABC-CLIO World History
Covers the events and people integral to world history with an emphasis on western civilization via full text essays, biographies, primary sources, and timelines.
ABCmouse
ABCmouse.com helps kids learn to read through phonics, and teaches lessons in math, social studies, art, music, and much more. For kids age 2 to Kindergarten (In Library Use Only)
ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists
Physician data reference tool with professional information about ABMS board certified physicians in specialties such as Pediatrics, Obstetrics, Dermatology, Surgery, etc.
Academic OneFile
Find full text, peer-reviewed articles from journals covering all post-secondary academic and professional subjects.
Advanced Real Estate Information System for Suffolk County
Real Property’s tax maps of Suffolk County allows you to access real time data on parcel ownership and view parcel outlines. (In Library Use only)
AllData Online
A car repair database that includes repair information, wiring diagrams, technical service bulletins, safety recommendations for domestic and foreign automobiles and trucks covering model years 1982 and onward. Works in Internet Explorer (IE) only. (In Library Use Only)
Alt HealthWatch
Full text magazine articles that focus on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
America the Beautiful
Find information on each of the United States with maps, flags, statistics, famous individuals, history, and common state facts (song, bird, etc.)
American Ancestors
A collection of databases created by the New England Genealogical Society. (In Library use only)
Ancestry Library Edition
This comprehensive genealogy resource allows users to search and view original records from the Federal Census 1790-1930 & records from city directories, Social Security Death Index, passenger lists & more. (In Library Use Only)
Auto Repair Reference Center
Use this database for assistance in repairing your car or truck. Repair articles, wiring diagrams, specifications, and technical service bulletins are available for domestic and import vehicles with selected coverage of automobiles from 1945 and onward.
Biography in Context
Provides short or descriptive biographies on famous individuals throughout history and throughout the world. Many entries include photographs or illustrations.
Books in Print
Publishing information and reviews on in-print and out-of-print books, videos, and audiobooks. Users can create their own lists of titles and browse bestselling and award-winning books.
Brooklyn Newsstand: Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
Search the historical Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper and view images of articles published between 1841 and 1955.
Building-Structure Inventory Files
This is a collection of local historic building inventories
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides profiles of public and private companies and includes financial data, company histories, management lists, etc.
Career Cruising
Find information on occupations and careers, do a skills assessment test to learn about other jobs that might suit you, or search for educational programs offered by technical schools and universities. You can also get tips for interviewing and creating a resume and also search for actual job openings.
Chronicle Career Library
Provides an overview of more than 2,000 occupations, including professional, technical, blue-collar, and white-collar jobs. Browse careers alphabetically to learn about work environments, salaries, and skills needed.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view historical newspapers from selected states, including full page images of New York's The Sun (1880 to 1910) and The New York Tribune (1880 to 1922).
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
Find full text poems and poetry criticism. Search by poem title, author, subject, or keywords. Also included are audio excerpts of famous poems and biographies of famous poets.
Connetquot Public Library Periodical Index
Serials Solutions is an index to the full text journals that are available either in print or on microfilm within the library, or available electronically from the library's various online database subscriptions.
Consumer Reports
Search full text articles from Consumer Reports magazine and the buying guide for helpful tips before you shop.
Credo Literati
Search for definitions, foreign words and phrases, short encyclopedia entries on general topics, and more with this collection of reference ebooks. Powered by Literati.
CultureGrams
A comprehensive database covering the cultures, economies, governments, and lands of US states, world countries, and Canadian provinces. Also find recipes, maps, flags, and info on famous people. Users can also download national anthems in MP3 format.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. Courtesy of the Patchogue-Medford Library.
EBSCOhost MasterFILE Elite
Full text articles from more than 1,900 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
eLibrary Elementary
Use this graphical search interface to find information from magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, weblinks, and audio/video titles
Encyclopedia of Animals
Learn about the habitat, life cycle, foods, and taxonomy of an animal, by typing the name into the search box below (for example, giraffe or gray whale) and clicking the Search button.
ERIC Online
Provides indexing and abstracts for professional journal articles from the 1930s onwards on teaching and educational research. Some full text journal articles are available.
Fiction Connection
Find summaries and reviews for contemporary and classic novels for adults and children. Also get lists of "readalikes" or browse by broad subject areas.
Fold3
Genealogists and history buffs can view digitized images of hard-to-locate documents as well as census records, city directories, military records, and more. Users can register for free to add comments or corrections to all documents.
General OneFile
Full-text articles from journals and magazines that cover news, health, and all other general interest topics.
Global Road Warrior
Casual or business travelers can find information on countries of the world including visa requirements, currency, climate, customs and habits, safety, Internet and cell phone access, business etiquette, and more. Know before you go!
Grolier Online
In-depth essays about topics in all general school subjects from Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of Knowledge.
Health Reference Center Academic
Find full text articles on diseases and medications from nursing and medical journals and consumer health magazines. Also included are medical education pamphlets and excerpts from reference books in the health sciences.
HeritageQuest Online
Genealogists can view digital images of U.S. Federal Census from 1790 to 1940 as well as digitized images of over 25,000 local history books.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center is a comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Includes articles and reference content, as well as videos and images designed to help home and business owners who want to make repairs themselves.
Kids InfoBits
Created for students in kindergarten through grade five, this database provides information on current events, arts, sciences, health, people, government, sports, history and more.
Law Depot
Create an account and start preparing your own legal forms.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes
Literature Criticism Online
Full-text criticism for American, British, and world literature from the 19th century to today. [This is full text of NCLC, TCLC and CLC criticism series, found in print in the library.]
Literature Resource Center
Students of literature can find information on authors and works of world literature. Search for full text critical essays, plot summaries, and journal articles.
Long Island Historical Journal
Website contains index and full-text articles of the Long Island Historical Journal(1988 to 2008).
Mango Languages
Learn a new language with this self-paced tutorial. Mango Basic emphasizes practical conversation in over 20 languages as well as beginner English for a variety of foreign speakers. Mango Complete includes full courses for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Chinese, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese, and selected ESL.
MedlinePlus
Medical information for the layperson offering information and tutorials on diseases, conditions, medications, physicians, and surgical procedures.
Mitchell1 ProDemand
An automotive repair database including repair information, wiring diagrams, and technical service bulletins for domestic and import vehicles from 1974 and on. To get started, click "Login" on the top-left of the screen. For repair information older vehicles, click on the "Vintage". (In Library Use Only)
Morningstar Library Edition
Find comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks.
National Geographic Kids
In this resource you will find the National Geographic Kids magazines from 2009 to present (3 month embargo), two hundred National Geographic Kids books, and five hundred kid-friendly, downloadable images.
National Newspapers (Infotrac Newsstand)
Search a collection of more than 1,000 national and international newspapers.
National Newspapers (Proquest)
Search the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the Boston Globe, the Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
National Newspapers - New York State
Newspapers from the cities of Albany, Buffalo and Syracuse, plus the New York Observer, the New York Times, the New York Post, and the New York Daily News, back to 1980.
New York Amsterdam News
New York Amsterdam News provides a multicultural look at world history from 1922 to the modern day. Search full text page images from 1922-1993.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Full text of the New York Times late edition. Complete articles from 1980 onward including the Book Review and Magazine sections.
New York Times Historical
Search the complete run of the historical New York Times with full text page images from every issue starting from the paper's inception in 1851 through 3 years ago.
Newsday (1940 - 1984)
Search Newsday's full text articles from 1940 to 1984. All articles can be printed or emailed.
Newsday (1985 - present)
Search Newsday's full text articles back to 1985. This database covers the three main editions - Nassau, Suffolk and City. All articles can be printed or emailed.
Novelist K-8 Plus
Find readalikes for your favorite fiction and nonfiction titles, get lists of books in a series, or read up on your favorite author.
Novelist Plus
Find readalikes for your favorite fiction and nonfiction titles, get lists of books in a series, or read up on your favorite author.
Obituaries Index
This is an index of obituaries published in local newspapers (Ronkonkoma Review, Brookhaven Review and the Islip Bulletin).
Old Fulton New York Post Cards
Search over 26,108,000 old New York historical newspapers. Included in the collection are issues of Suffolk County News from 1900 to 1986 (with some gaps).
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
Pronunciator
A language-learning service that offers 80 foreign languages; ESL for 50 non-English languages; and full-featured apps for all Android and Apple devices.
ReferenceUSA
A business & residential directory for the entire United States. Search an individual company or person or create lists of companies based on industry, size, earnings, location, and more.
Salem Health
Full text essays on medical conditions, treatments, alternative therapies, mental health topics, and also describes a variety of medical procedures.
Salem History
Online access to the following Salem Press history reference books: Decades, Great Athletes, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and Milestone Documents.
Salem Literature
Provides online access to full-text literary reference books.
Science Online
General science encyclopedia with diagrams, experiments, essays, definitions, and biographies arranged by topic.
Science Reference Center
Find full text articles, encyclopedias, and reference books for all topics in the hard sciences including biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, physics, and technology.
Something About The Author Online
Read in-depth profiles of more than 12,000 children's and young adult authors and illustrators. Each essay explores an author's personal life, writings, adaptations, and works in progress.
Student Research Center
Student Research Center provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information that they seek from their EBSCO databases.
Suffolk Historic Newspapers
A collections of local newspapers with full text articles published at the late 19th century. Newspapers included are South Side Signal, The Long Islander, The Long Island Traveler, The Corrector, The Mid-Island Mail, The Port Jefferson Echo, Sag Harbor Express, and Suffolk County News and others.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 250 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
TumbleBooks Library
Young readers can follow along with this online collection of animated picture books that will read themselves to you! Games, quizzes, audiobooks, and foreign language titles are also available for more reading fun.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
Index and full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 onward.
Wilson Biography Reference Bank
Full text biographical sketches and obituaries are available for prominent persons from all walks of life.
World Book Online for Kids
Elementary school students can look for information in the World Book Encyclopedia using a fun and easy to use search screen.
World Book Online Info Finder
The online version of this standard encyclopedia includes all of the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus over 1,800 more.
World Vital Records
Collection of genealogy records from around the world including censuses, passenger lists, family histories, and more.