Find articles, essays, and more... Advanced Search

Databases Alphabetically

Here are some useful databases to help you with your homework or research.

Our reference databases are available for home use with a valid library card.
If you are using the databases from home, you will be asked for the barcode number
from the back of your card before starting your session.

ABC-CLIO American Government

ABC-CLIO American Government

Access daily news stories, biographies, primary source documents, essays, and more to develop an understanding of the events and leaders in the American government.

ABC-CLIO American History

ABC-CLIO American History

Covers the events and people integral to U.S. history from early Native American cultures to present via full text essays, biographies, primary source documents, and timelines.

ABC-CLIO World History

ABC-CLIO World History

Covers the events and people integral to world history with an emphasis on western civilization via full text essays, biographies, primary source documents, and timelines.

America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful

Explore all the states and territories of the United States. Search a state to find facts, history, data on major cities, maps, climate, and culture. Special features include essays on each of the presidents and on major Native American tribes.

Biography In Context

Biography In Context

Search for full text biographical essays and magazine articles on well-known contemporary and historic individuals.

Biography Reference Center

Biography Reference Center

Full text biographical sketches and obituaries are available for prominent persons from all walks of life. Search by a name, ethnicity, profession, or gender. Some biographies also include photographs or illustrations.

Career Cruising

Career Cruising

Find information on occupations and careers, do a skills assessment test to learn about other jobs that might suit you, or search for educational programs offered by technical schools and universities. You can also get tips for interviewing and creating a resume and also search for actual job openings.

Children's Literature Review

Children's Literature Review

This contains criticism for the major works of the most influential authors in children's literature. These digitized essays are presented in full text.

Chronicle Career Library

Chronicle Career Library

Provides an overview of more than 2,000 occupations, including professional, technical, blue-collar, and white-collar jobs. Browse careers alphabetically to learn about work environments, salaries, and skills needed.

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Find full text poems and poetry criticism. Search by poem title, author, subject, or keywords. Also included are audio excerpts of famous poems and biographies of famous poets.

Culturegrams

Culturegrams

A comprehensive database covering the cultures, economies, governments, and lands of US states, world countries, and Canadian provinces. Also find recipes, maps, flags, and info on famous people. Users can also download national anthems in MP3 format.

EBSCO Masterfile Premier

EBSCO Masterfile Premier

Contains full text articles from over 2,000 periodicals back to 1984 including academic and professional journals and Consumer Reports. Covers all general interest news events and subject areas. Articles can be printed, emailed, or saved.

Encyclopedia of Animals

Encyclopedia of Animals

Learn about the habitat, life cycle, foods, and taxonomy of an animal, by typing the name into the search box below (for example, giraffe or gray whale) and clicking the Search button.

Grolier Online

Grolier Online

Read in-depth essays about topics in all school subjects from the Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of Knowledge. Special features include sound files of national anthems, photos, an atlas, timelines, and Internet links to selected websites.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

U.S. history from colonial times to present and world history from Ancient Egypt through the present day. Search full text event overviews, essays, timelines, maps and images, biographies of notable figures, and primary documents.

Kids Search

Kids Search

Elementary students can search full text magazine articles are available from approximately 160 publications and pamphlets, general encyclopedia, dictionary, and more.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center

Find information on literary disciplines and timeframes; includes plot summaries and overviews, author bios, literature criticism, book reviews, full text classic and contemporary poems and short stories, and more.

Live Study Help - Homework Help K-12

Live Study Help - Homework Help K-12

Students can get one-to-one tutoring in math, social studies, science, and English or submit papers for proofreading. Log in with your library card from 2-11 pm to chat live with a tutor or try the Skills Center at any time to get study guides for standardized tests and the GED, job search and resume tips, and citizenship help.

Mango Languages

Mango Languages

Learn a new language with this self-paced tutorial. Mango Basic emphasizes practical conversation in over 20 languages as well as beginner English for a variety of foreign speakers. Mango Complete includes full courses for Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Chinese, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese, and selected ESL.

Novelist Plus K-8

Novelist Plus K-8

Find the title of a book for a brief summary or review, lists of books by your favorite authors or books in a series, or choose subjects you are interested in to get a list of titles. Includes recommendations for readers and lesson plans for teachers.

Points of View

Points of View

Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Includes information on timely social issues with full text opinions, articles, statistics & primary documents.

Salem History Series

Salem History Series

Explore U.S. and world history with this collection of online reference books. Find biographies and coverage of major political and world events, economics, and popular culture. Includes the titles from the print series Great Lives From History, Great Events In History, and the Decades series.

Science Online

Science Online

This encyclopedia of the general sciences is geared toward middle school researchers. Search for biographies with photographs, timelines, essays, definitions, and multiple diagrams for all grade levels.

Something About the Author

Something About the Author

Read in-depth profiles of more than 12,000 children’s and young adult authors and illustrators. Each essay explores an author’s personal life, writings, adaptations, and works in progress. Includes the entire full-text of the Something About the Author and Something About the Author Autobiography print series.

Student Research Center

Student Research Center

Students in middle and high school can find information on all general subjects with full text articles, encyclopedias, reference book excerpts, primary source documents, biographies, and more.

TumbleBooks

TumbleBooks

Young readers can follow along with this online collection of animated picture books that will read themselves to you! Games, quizzes, audiobooks, and foreign language titles are also available for more reading fun.

United States Geography

United States Geography

Research state histories, maps, facts, statistics, and political, cultural, and environmental data. Biographies of state governors and senators are included as well as primary sources such as the State-of-the-state addresses, constitutions, and songs.

World Book Online InfoFinder

World Book Online InfoFinder

The online version of this standard encyclopedia includes all of the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus over 1,800 more. Full-color photographs and illustrations, videos, animations, sound files, 3D virtual views, and a complete atlas.

World Book Online Kids

World Book Online Kids

Elementary school students can look for information in the World Book Encyclopedia using a fun and easy to use search screen.

World Geography

World Geography

Research countries of the world through a wealth of data including histories, statistics, climate, economics, culture, biographies of major world leaders, maps, flags, photographs, primary source documents, and daily updated news stories.

 

© Connetquot Public Library. All rights reserved.
URL:
http://www.connetquotlibrary.org/childrens